The Circle of Nations School (CNS) has a six member school board selected primarily on the basis of student enrollment. Representation by the number of students from a tribe or area of the United States will identify five of the Six members. The Sisseton-Wahpeton Sioux Tribe has a permanent membership because they are the sponsoring tribe for the CNS. Board members are appointed by the various participating tribes and then become members of the CNS school board. The appointment is for four years.

The Board and the School Administration actively pursue the school whereby Native American children from reservations and urban areas nationwide could be appropriately served in a Native American culturally oriented school. CNS has served students in grades 4 through 8 from over 37 different tribal affiliations.

Present Members are as follows:

Kay Bursheim, Sisseton Wahpeton Oyate – Chair

BreeAnn Hinojos, Spirit Lake Tribe

Clifford Wolfe, Omaha Tribe

Judy Roy, Red Lake Band Of Chippewa - Vice Chair

Wayne Lookingback, Standing Rock Sioux Tribe 

Tonia Wilber, Menominee Tribe